Bakken Classic Fishing Derby


Attend an Event

Make a Donation


Fishing for a Cause

The Bakken Classic Fishing Derby is a charity fishing tournament held in July of each year at the Four Bears Casino Marina near New Town, ND.

The Bakken Classic is limited to 100 three-person teams. Participants must be members of the Bakken Classic Club, which is $100 per person. Proceeds for the tournament go toward conservation and outdoor heritage projects.

The 7th Annual Bakken Classic Fishing Derby was held on Wednesday, July 14, 2021 and raised more than $16,000 for conservation and habitat projects. Congratulations to all our winners and thank you to all our participants!

2021 champions: Caleb Eide, Logan Stoner, Matt Fossen

How to Register:

Step 1: Join the Conservation Club

Joining the club entails a $300 donation toward conservation

Proceeds from the Bakken Conservation Club allow the North Dakota Petroleum Foundation to build and restore habitat and enhance access to the outdoors. This contribution is tax-deductible.

In addition, each $300 donation allows you to enter one team in the derby for an additional $60 entry fee.

Step 2: Enter Your Team!

the Registration fee for the derby is $60. 

The Bakken Classic Fishing Derby is open only to Bakken Conservation Club Members. The fee per team is $60. The proceeds for the entry fee are paid back as cash prizes to the top placers.

Registration will open April 1, 2022 for past participants and may 15, 2022 for everyone.

Derby Info

Wednesday, July 20, 2022

Launching from 4 Bears Casino Marina (Tentative Schedule)

6 a.m.  Check-In Opens

7:30 a.m.  Flight 1 Shotgun Start

8 a.m.  Flight 2 Shotgun Start

2 p.m.  Scale Opens

2:30 p.m.  Flight 1 Return

3 p.m.  Flight 2 Return

3:30 p.m.  Social and Awards




Our events and efforts aren’t possible without the support of our members. Thanks to all our Premier Partners for their sponsorship! Learn more about becoming a Premier Partner here.